Aboriginal Renewable Energy Fund

AREF transition to the consolidated program

The Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO) is developing a new funding program that will improve and consolidate the Aboriginal Renewable Energy Fund (AREF) with the Community Energy Partnerships Program (CEPP), the Municipal and Public Sector Energy Partnerships Program (MPSEPP), and Aboriginal Transmission Fund (ATF) Programs.

As per the directive dated November 21, 2014, the consolidated program will offer similar funding to the AREF Program for applicants to undertake due diligence for proposed partnerships and to help with soft costs associated with the development of renewable energy projects under the FIT Program. Please see the table below for more information on the funding streams and eligibility for the consolidated program.

To prepare for the launch of the new consolidated support program and help transition applicants from the existing programs: 

1)      The AREF Program will no longer be accepting applications.

All applications to the AREF that were received on or before May 4, 2015 at 5:00pm, will be reviewed and successful applicants will enter into Funding Agreements with the IESO.

Applicants who were unable to submit their applications to AREF before May 4, 2015, will be able submit their applications to the consolidated program once launched. Program staff will be able to provide application assistance to applicants who will be transitioning to the new application materials under the consolidated program.

2)      In mid-May, the IESO will publish draft program rules for the consolidated program for comment and feedback from interested stakeholders.

Following the comment period, the IESO will finalize the program rules, make available the final program materials and begin accepting applications.

Applicants are encouraged to continue to monitor the AREF website for more information and updates on the consolidated support program. Program staff are also available to answer questions and provide support: 








The consolidated support program will consist of the following two funding streams: